

# Minutes of the General and Senate Meeting – APPROVED

June 23, 2022 (virtual, held using Zoom, business conducted)

Convener: Tim Tryjankowski

Officers Present: Tim Tryjankowski (Chair) and Catherine Donnelly (Secretary)

**Senators Present**: Brianna Bennett, Rachel Blane, Rita Ferri, Bradley Hendricks, Janiece Jankowski, Chris (CJ) Keough, Kimberly Krzemien, Meredith Forrest Kulwicki, Carl Lam, Jenna Lenz, Tim Matthews, Sherene Milizia, Lisa Patterson, Marlo Roetzer, Pam Rose, Melinda Saran, Daniel Schweitzer, Ryan Spearer, Krystal Testa, Tony Waleszczak.

**Senators Absent**: Don Erb (Vice Chair), Ed Brodka, Jennifer Chazen, Jessica Byerly Coram, Ray Dannehoffer, Lynn Emminger, Andrew Fogelsonger, Doug Levere, Dom Licata, RJ Multari, Janet Schrum, Virginia Stever, Fred Stoss, Christopher Wilson, and Michael Yates.

**Senators with technical issues joining the meeting:** Charlie Baxter, Fran Fiscus for Kim Behun, Hugh Jarvis, and Eileen Sirianni. All agreed with the voting results in email exchanges after the meeting.

Guests: No guests.

Parliamentarian: Rachel Poole

Staff: Jessica Naish

**Recorder**: Catherine Donnelly

Meeting called to order by Tim Tryjankowski at 3:01 p.m.

Quorum reached: 20 senators and 2 officers present.

Supporting documents in Box.com folder in

Professional Staff Senate/ Meetings/ Senate and General Meetings / 2022-006-23

# PRESENTATION OF AGENDA – Tim Tryjankowski

Motion to adopt Agenda: Tony Waleszczak (Daniel Schweitzer) Passed.
 Note: President Tripathi had to cancel his presentation to travel for SUNY. There were no planned officer reports.

## REVIEW OF PAST MINUTE(s) – Tim Tryjankowski

• Motion to approve Minutes from May 26: Rita Ferri Jenna Lenz) Passed.

Meeting started with the land grant acknowledgment.

Office of University Shared Governance Professional Staff Senate

543 Capen Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-1601 Ph: (716) 645-2003; Fax: (716) 645-2717 pssenate@buffalo.edu www.buffalo.edu/pss



# CHAIR'S REPORT – Tim Tryjankowski

No report

#### VICE-CHAIR'S REPORT – Don Erb

No report.

# SECRETARY'S REPORT – Catherine Donnelly

No report.

### **UNFINISHED BUSINESS**

- Reorganization discussion. A special sub-committee was formed, several years ago, to consider how
  best to address the needs of a changing institution. Their recommendations were sent to the general
  membership in June and the vote of the general membership to amend the by-laws and reorganize
  the PSS into new- more relevant representative districts (areas) was approved: 102 yes, 6 no, and 4
  abstentions.
- Thus, we need to bring the standing rules into alignment with the changes to the bylaws.
- Motion to discuss the standing rules to mimic the reorganization plans in our bylaws. Kimberly Krzemien (Christopher Keough)
- Issue was asked about the reason for the change and the primary issue is the focus on five areas, not
  the newly approved decanal and departments. All documents pertaining to this issue are in the UB
  Box folder for the PSS.
- After discussion a motion to amend the standing rules to mimic the reorganization bylaws change recently passed by the general membership to take effect on Jan. 1, 2023. Christopher Keough (Daniel Schweitzer) Passed, no nay votes, no abstentions.

### **NEW BUSINESS**

Welcome to the new senators and thank you to outgoing senators. The results of the senator election are as follows and were emailed to all PSS members:

OFFICERS: Timothy Tryjankowski, Chair, Don Erb, Vice-Chair, Catherine Donnelly, Secretary and Rachel Poole, Parliamentarian

SENATORS:

AREA I (4/21)

Jaclyn Bodack (2022-2024), Andrew Fogelsonger (2021-2023) and Sherene Milizia (2022-2024)

Office of University Shared Governance Professional Staff Senate

543 Capen Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-1601 Ph: (716) 645-2003; Fax: (716) 645-2717 pssenate@buffalo.edu www.buffalo.edu/pss



AREA II (9/22)

Kathie Baretlo (2022-2024),

Rachel Blane (2021-2023), Kathryn Griswold (2022-2024), Vince Harzewski (2022-2024), Lisa Patterson (2021-2023), Marlo Roetzer (2021-2023), Melinda Saran (2021-2023), Virginia Server (2021-2023), and Tony Waleszczak (2021-2023)

AREA III (12/16)

Charlie Baxter (2021-2023), Ed Brodka (2021-2023), Jennifer Chazen (2021-2023), Summer Cruz (2022-2024), Lauren Galgovich (2022-2024), Tim Matthews (2021-2023), R.J. Multari (2022-2024), Susan Ott (2022-2024), Janet Schrum (2021-2023), Ryan Spearer (2021-2023), Allen Williams (2022-2024), and Michael Yates (2021-2023)

AREA IV (10/12)

John Ball (2022-2024), Mark Ferguson (2022-2024), Rita Ferri (2021-2023), Allen Gaeddert (2022-2024), Janiece Jankowski (2022-2024), Christopher Keough (2021-2023), Adam Pawlowski (2022-2024), Pamela Rose (2021-2023), Eileen Sirianni (2021-2023), and Jennifer Vick (2022-2024)

AREA V (13/19)

Kimberly Behun (2022-2024), Jessica Coram (2022-2024), Courtney Doxbeck (2022-2024), Hugh Jarvis (2021-2023), Zachary Jenney (2022-2024), Jeremy Jungbluth (2022-2024), Kimberly Krzemien (2022-2024), Carl Lam (2022-2024), Douglas Levere (2021-2023), Daniel Schweitzer (2021-2023), Elizabeth (Beth) Slater (2022-2024), Krystal Testa (2022-2024), and Ashley Cannon-Zelasko (2022-2024)

### **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion to Adjourn: 3:10 p.m.

Attendance and meeting audio recording available through the PSS office.

Office of University Shared Governance Professional Staff Senate

543 Capen Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-1601 Ph: (716) 645-2003; Fax: (716) 645-2717 pssenate@buffalo.edu www.buffalo.edu/pss